Diss rail station receives ‘Secure Station’ accolade

Friday, 7 December 2012

MP Richard Bacon visited Diss rail station on Friday to present the Greater Anglia station team with a ‘Secure Station’ award.

The national awards scheme recognises good practice where train operators have worked in partnership with the British Transport Police and other partners in implementing security measures at stations, taking into account areas such as station design, management practices, security and passenger safety.

The Secure Stations Scheme is directed by the Department for Transport and the British Transport Police.

Mr Bacon called in to the station at 12.30pm on Friday 7th December to present the station team at Diss with their Award. He also viewed improvements to the waiting room on platform 1 which has been redecorated and a brand new, fully accessible disabled toilet facility installed.

Andrew Goodrum, Greater Anglia’s Customer Services Director said:

“I would like to congratulate our team at Diss station for their efforts in successfully receiving accreditation under the Secure Stations Scheme, and for the support and guidance of British Transport Police in working with Greater Anglia on the awards scheme. I’m delighted Richard Bacon MP will present the local team with their award.”

South Norfolk MP Richard Bacon said: “I am delighted to present the station team at Diss with this well-deserved award.  It’s crucial that the travelling public feels safe at our railway stations and this award recognises the hard work of Diss station staff, British Transport Police and other local groups in making Diss station a secure, pleasant environment for all its users.  My thanks go to all involved in making Diss such a safe and welcoming station”.