New Chairman for East Suffolk Line Community Rail Partnership

Thursday, 8 January 2015

The East Suffolk Line Community Rail Partnership has welcomed a new Chairman.


Aaron Taffera, formerly the partnership’s Vice Chair, has been appointed following the departure of Geof Butterwick, who stepped down in October.


Aaron’s involvement with the CRP began in 2008 and he is also the adopter for Melton station on the East Suffolk Line.


Aaron has a lifelong interest in rail and in 2005 he started to promote the East Suffolk Line, of which he has fond childhood memories.


Aaron, 47, has worked in broadcasting in the US since age 16 and now lives in Tunstall, Suffolk. His interests include walking, nature, landscaping, technology and golf.


Commenting on his new role, Aaron said, “I am looking forward to continuing the excellent work already done by the CRP and Abellio Greater Anglia in improving and promoting the East Suffolk Line. The Community Rail Partnership will continue to be a driving force promoting rail transport in Suffolk, working with Abellio Greater Anglia and local partners, to improve the passenger experience at stations along the route and promoting the opportunities to leave the car behind and travel by train.”


Jonathan Denby, Head of Corporate Affairs at Abellio Greater Anglia said, "I would like to welcome Aaron to his new role. The ongoing work of the East Suffolk Lines CRP provides valuable support to us as the train operator for these important rail lines and the communities along those routes."


The CRP is principally funded by Abellio Greater Anglia and local authorities including, Suffolk County Council, Ipswich Borough Council, Suffolk Coastal District Council and Waveney District Council.