Community Rail Partnerships

A fresh approach to Community Rail.

In our new franchise, we will support our existing Community Rail Partnerships and seek to develop new ones.

Our approach will embed rail into the heart of local communities by enabling, empowering, and engaging with existing Community Rail Partnerships to help them grow the rail market and make local lines and stations a stronger part of their local communities. This will be underpinned by an enhanced package of funding, technical and commercial support and a more professional approach to business planning.

We also plan to work with local stakeholders to upgrade the valuable work and contribution of Station Adopters and to seem more of them.

We’ll also work with CRPs and local stakeholders to maximise opportunities for third party funding for station improvements especially to deliver wider social, economic, and environmental benefit.

In addition to this investment, we will inject £750,000 into schemes that can improve the community and customer experience of our rail network through a Customer and Communities Improvement Fund.

Click here to download our Community Rail Report

Station Adopter Scheme

Greater Anglia also participates in a Station Adopter Scheme where members of the public can 'adopt a station' and help out with gardening projects, creative community art projects, taking part in station health checks or being the eyes and ears of their station.

Greater Anglia Lines covered by Community Rail Partnerships

Community Rail Norfolk

Wherry Lines logo

Wherry Lines

The Wherry Line which runs from Norwich to Great Yarmouth / Lowestoft

Bittern Line logo

Bittern Line

The Bittern Line which runs from Norwich to Sheringham

The East Suffolk Community Rail Partnership

East Suffolk Line logo

East Suffolk Line

Ipswich to Felixstowe and Lowestoft

Essex and South Suffolk Community Rail Partnership

Gainsborough Line logo

Gainsborough Line

The Gainsborough line which runs between Marks Tey and Sudbury

Sunshine Coast Line logo

Sunshine Coast Line

The Sunshine Coast which runs between Colchester, Clacton-on-Sea and Walton on the Naze

Crouch Valley Line logo

Crouch Valley Line

The Crouch Valley Line which runs between Shenfield and Southminster

Mayflower Line logo

Mayflower Line

The Mayflower Line runs between Manningtree to Harwich for Mistley, Stour Valley and Harwich

The Hereward Line Community Rail Partnership

Logo of a light blue train

The Hereward Line

Ely to Peterborough

The New River Line Community Rail Partnership

Logo with a river flowing between green trees

The New River Line

Hertford East to Broxbourne