Greater Anglia Honours Station Adopters

Wednesday, 24 October 2012

Station Adopters from across the Greater Anglia network were honoured at the train operator’s annual awards ceremony this year held at the East Anglian Railway Museum, Chappel on Friday 19 October 2012.

Greater Anglia operates a comprehensive Station Adopter scheme at its stations in Cambridgeshire, Essex, Norfolk and Suffolk where volunteers from the local community contribute to the upkeep of their local stations, working with Greater Anglia and Community Rail Partnerships on colourful floral displays and in creating a more welcoming environment.

The 2012 Greater Anglia Station Adopter Awards were presented by special guest Neil Buxton, General Manager of the Association of Community Rail Partnerships, assisted by Andrew Goodrum, Greater Anglia’s Customer Service Director.

Andrew Goodrum, Greater Anglia’s Customer Service Director, said: “Our Station Adopter scheme continues to go from strength to strength with many stations in the region benefitting from the additional care and attention our adopters provide, working in partnership with Greater Anglia staff and community representatives. I congratulate all our station adopters for their contribution and support in helping to put stations at the centre of their local communities.”

This year’s Roll of Honour saw awards distributed across the region, underlining the growing support for the Station Adopter scheme. The winners, runners-up, highly commended and finalists in each category were:  

Best Small Station

Winner              Runners-up              Highly Commended
Trimley              Bures, Darsham,      Acle,

Other finalists: Alresford, Brampton, Cantley, Chappel & Wakes Colne, Great Chesterford, North Fambridge, Reedham, Somerleyton, Worstead.

Best Medium Station

Winner             Runner-up   
Woodbridge     Burnham-on-Crouch,  

Other finalists: Attleborough, Wymondham.

Best Staffed Station

Winner              Runner-up
Colchester,       Ely

Other finalists: Diss, Gidea Park, Witham.

Most Improved Station

Winner:  Kirby Cross

Other finalists: Brundall Gardens, March, Thetford.

Innovation Award

Winner: Annette Day, Darsham station adopter.

Other finalists: Lucy Ainger and Lynda Stone of the Essex and South Suffolk Community Rail Partnership, Isabella Warren Great Chesterford Station adopter, Corinne Sermons Marks Tey station adopter.

Community Involvement

Winner: Friends of Thetford station                           

Highly Commended:  Friends of March station

Other finalists: George McKissock and Sue Dawes Wivenhoe Station adopters, Great Yarmouth Welcome Hosts, Steve Mitchell Wickham Market station adopter.

Best Adopter Group

Winner: Crouch Valley Line Promotion Group          

Highly Commended:  Cantley

Other finalists: Cantley, Ely, Thetford, West Runton, Witham, Wivenhoe.

Special Award

Winner: Wivenhoe station adopters (George McKissock and Sue Dawes)

Other finalists: Darsham, Newport, Somerleyton.

Best Personal contribution

Winner: Corinne Sermons Marks Tey station adopter

Other finalists: Isabella Warren Great Chesterford, Paul and Katherine Howard South Woodham Ferrers station.